first_imgSEASONED swimmers Raekwon Noel, Leon Seaton and reigning gold medallist Aleka Persaud will represent Guyana this year at the CARIFTA Aquatic Championships, billed for Barbados over the Easter holiday weekend in April. Persaud, who stormed to wins in the 50m freestyle, 100m freestyle and 100m butterfly in the 11-12 age category at the 2019 competition, will compete in the 13-14 age division this year.Both Noel and Seaton are experienced at the regional event. Persaud and Seaton would also jump to a new age division this year.  The 15-year-old will swim in the 15-17 division.Noel, on the other hand, outstanding for club team Dorado Speed Swim Club at the ASATT Invitational Championships in Trinidad in December, is in his last year in the 13-14 age division. According to information from the Guyana Amateur Swimming Association (GASA) Elliott Gonsalves also qualified for the meet, but would not travel this year.Meanwhile all four swimmers were outstanding at the just concluded Mashramani Swimming Championships, held from Thursday to Saturday at the National Aquatic Centre in Liliendaal.DOMINANT NOELNoel led the charge in the pool. The 14-year-old dominated the 13-14 age division with 10 gold and 1 silver in the long-course battle.Swimming in the 13-14 age division, Noel won the 1500m freestyle in 18:00.40, way ahead of club teammates Stephen Ramkhelawan 19:32.72 and Vladimir Woodroffe 19:43.14Some of the female age-division winners from the three-day championships.The youngster also won the 200m backstroke (2:27.63), the 100m freestyle (59.76s), the 200m butterfly (2:25.24), the 100m backstroke (1:08.97), the 50m butterfly (28.15), the 400m free (4:32.80), the 200m free (2:07,56), the 50m backstroke (31.31s) and the 100m butterfly (1:04.03). He also claimed a silver medal in the 50m freestyle – his time of 27.53s was bettered only by Sea Otters’ Jaleel Anderson (27.19s).Silver Sharks Aquatic Club swimmer Seaton was impressive in the 15-17 age division. He won the 100m freestyle (57.54s), the 50m butterfly (28.54s), 200m free (2:06.81); 50m backstroke (30.18s); 100m butterfly (1:03.87) and the 50m free (25.62s)Orca Speed Swim Club’s Persaud also won each of her four races. She finished first in the 13-14 200m IM in a time of 2:45.41; first in the 200m free (2:23.12); first in the 50m breaststroke (39.09s) and first in the 100m free (1:04.36).Dorado swimmer Gonsalves (13 years old) won the 200m IM 2:30.39 in the 13-14 age division; the 50m breaststroke (36.12s); the 100m breaststroke (1:20.04); the 200m breaststroke (2:55.03); while he finished second in the 200m butterfly (2:31.50); second in the 400m free (4:49.89); second in the 200m free (2:13.00); third in the 100m free (1:01.89) and third 50m back (33.35s);Sixty-two finals were held over the three days and several other swimmers dominated their age divisions.OUTSTANDING ZARA AND LEWISZara Crane (Dorado) and Shareefah Lewis (Sea Otters) were the most outstanding females in the pool. Both youngsters stormed to nine gold medals each.Crane was outstanding in the 11-12 female division. She won the 200m IM (3:04.00); the 50m breaststroke (42.43s); the 100m free (1:13.53); 100m backstroke (1:27.96); 100m breaststroke (1:32.18); 200m breaststroke (3:15.62); 400m free (5:57.68); 200m free (2:41.51) and 100m butterfly (1:28:06).Lewis, swimming in the 9-10 category, won the 200m IM (3:08.78); the 50m breaststroke (45.09); 100m free (1:17.87); 100m back (1:26:22); 50m butterfly 34.75s); 200m free (2:51.31); 50m back (38:23); 100m breaststroke (1:40.82) and the 50m free (33:03).Several other swimmers finished with gold medals, including Giselle Crane, Donna Carter, Monique Watson, Fitzroy Thom, Daniel Scott, Maya Ifill, Athalcy Hunte, Heaven Belony, Aydin Jackson,  Kyra Soares, Ahkiel McKoy, Jerome Sookram, Jonathan Sookram, Jessica Sookram, Nikita Peters, Andrew Skeete, Micaiah Enoe, Hashim Mohamed, Darius Williams, Leah Terborg, Michael Thompson; Safiya Foster, Darion Pereira; Stephon Ramkhelawan, Andrew Jordan, Phillip Dimitri, Deshawna Williams, Aarav Singh, Alex Bentham, Ausar Tzedeq, Ariel Rodrigues, Safiya Foster, Delia George and Kayla Hardy.last_img