first_img(L-R): Chad Moeller, Christy Pedersen, VFW RepresentativeBatesville, In. — The VFW recently recognized the winners of the “Patriot’s Pen Writing Contest.”Three of the five winners were from St. Louis School in Batesville. Seventh-grader Kate Weber won a $50 prize for 4th place, Claire Saner is a 7th grader and she won $100 for 3rd place and Madison Wanstrath, also a 7th grader, won $200 for a 1st place finish.(L-R): Claire Saner, Kate Weber, Madison Wanstrath, Samantha Giesting (SLS Jr. High Teacher)Mrs. Pederson was introduced as the “Teacher of the Year” and received $500.The winners were formally announced to the public at the VFW Annual Dinner.last_img